1FZ are they worth keeping/moding or swap them? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I have recently picked up a 1994 FZJ80 mostly as a tow wagon for my track car but have been enjoying a few trips out the dunes and tracks and am getting more in to this as a side hobby.
My issue with the 1FZ is it chews gas(like nearly 20L/100km) and seems gutless for a 4.5L
I have been thinking of doing o2 sensors and a new airflow meter to try get the fuel use down but want to know your opinions on the engine and if it's worth getting some more life out of it or going down the swap avenue.
I have a lot of mechanical experience so can do all the work my self but seems like getting stuff in New Zealand is a lot more expensive then other parts of the world (Example used Vortex 5300 $2500 USD)

Depends how much you’re going to drive it I guess. Doing some basic maintenance will help with economy a bit, but it’ll always use fuel. That said, even a modern engine swap will still use a decent amount of fuel (unless you go diesel). Could convert to LPG although that can decrease overall range and ground clearance.
To be honest you could sell and buy a turbo diesel model, will give you the power and economy and probably wouldn’t be that different in price to doing an engine swap (once you factor in all costs).

Haltech, compushift if you have an auto and a big turbo - party time. The 1FZ turbos very well and I used to get 17 litres per 100km in my turbo 1FZ corrected for 35s - best I've ever seen N/A is 16, but there is a step up to 98 octane fuel.

I have recently picked up a 1994 FZJ80 mostly as a tow wagon for my track car but have been enjoying a few trips out the dunes and tracks and am getting more in to this as a side hobby.
My issue with the 1FZ is it chews gas(like nearly 20L/100km) and seems gutless for a 4.5L