1994 HZJ75 Troopy. New here! Air con questions (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
G'day from the other side of the planet! I just bought the dream vehicle, a 1994 1HZ Troopy with a pop top! She's already been named Sunny, by my partner and we could be more excited to have this adventure vehicle!

I am learning about A/C systems in this vehicle as I want to get it running again, but I am a complete novice, so I am looking for advice. It looks like all the hardware is installed by the previous owner (compressor, switch, condenser, evaporator, dryer, all the lines are there, so I suspect the expansion valve is in there), but the wiring seems a bit off. The switch on the dash seems to work (it doesn't light up though) but the wiring in the engine bay is disconnected.
The first question I'd have is where does the compressor relay usually sit? (Engine bay or under the dash?) and can it be replaced?
Where is the Thermostat (and thermostat wire) located?
Also is it possible to get replacement plugs for the compressor and drier? Or do they connect directly to the relay?
Finally, what is the amplifier?

327765961_1467779880294768_5874457543393258487_n.jpg

Hi
There are two AC systems: With amplifier (control lever in dash) and simple on/off (button in dash).
There are also two refrigerant versions: R12 (old) and R134 (new, less ozone harmful). Those can usually be told apart by indication on the compressor or the filling connectors.
Which one do you have?

All my further indications are based on my 1985 BJ73 with simple AC on/off.
The electric circuit basically works like this:
1. Main power is provides off the blower switch. AC only works when blower is on, in order to prevent icing.
2. Switch AC (either the AC on / off button or the amplifier) I understand you have the button. I assume, it should light up if engsged AND the blower is on. Other the bulb may be blown.