07 4-runner oil overfilled? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I used to work as a mechanic. I know how to check oil.

Just had my oil changed yesterday. The dipstick read over by the distance between the dots, about 2".
I pulled out about a quart and am now over by 1/2". The shop swears the put in the right amount. The last oil change by them was over on the dipsitick by about 3/8".

The same shop claimed I was 5 quarts low last time. The oil was between the marks when I brought it to them. It burns no measurable oil, none, in 5000+ miles. There were no indications of being low on oil.

The curved dipstick tube is pretty sketchy to get a valid reading. The oil smears up the back of the dipstick for several inches. I am looking at the inside of the curve which reads much lower.

Possibilities that come to mind,
I am stupid.? No, my mother had me tested. : )
They do not know how to measure the right amount of oil. And/or, they used a crappy filter with a bad check valve, and/or they did not drain it completely.
The dipstick is calibrated wrong.

What is your opinion?

Up date, I removed 1 5/8 quarts through the dipstick tube. That got me down to the full line. Only 30% over filled, he told me it is fine and will not hurt anything.

This is the second time he overfilled it. That era 4-runner used two engines. The other engine had a larger oil capacity. I think we are dealing with a reading comprehension issue. He also broke the power antenna on my '92 land cruiser and refused to fess up.

The mechanic is fired, I can no longer trust them. I will not be going back to that shop.

Last edited:
Up date, I removed 1 5/8 quarts through the dipstick tube. That got me down to the full line. Only 30% over filled, he told me it is fine and will not hurt anything.