fj40 with linked coilover 80 axle project (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Ok guys here it is. I am in the middle of my project. I doing a 4 link rear and 3 link front with coilovers on my 40 with 80 axles. I am a newbie, this is my first build so feel free to let me know what you think, I am always open to any and all suggestions. I have the links tacked in place and about to start work on the steering and hardpan bar. I have decided to have the frame hieght 25" off of the ground. I have extended the wheel base to 98". I am going to run 37x13.50 procomp xterrains ( got them new, never mounted for $200.00 each from a friend of mine in the tire buss). Most of the wheeling I do is in sand, creek and river beds and the beach.
I hope this all works out well. I guess I will find out on test day!
I will get pics on here tomorrow

Please post pics. I am thinking of this swap on my Bj 70
Good luck

IMO, take the height down 2" or more if you can..

The lower CoG is good, but it'll also make it easier to get good geometry with your links if they are flatter.

My junk was 23" to the frame previously with the 38.5's at 30psi, and it was just a standard SOA setup.

How much uptravel are you allowing for?

I will have 12" shocks in the back and 14" in the front so I will do something like 6" up 8" down in the front and 5" up and 7" down in the back, I am guessing here.

here are a few pics of the progress so far.
DSC00873.JPG
DSC00871.JPG
DSC00869.JPG

I posted these pics in another post but I started my own thread on it so I wouldnt be using someone elses thread. ( suggestion from pace)

:bounce: Nicely done so far! Good to see more linked FJ's out there ;p
Got a few ?s for 'ya:
What wall is that DOM? Looks like 1 1/2" uppers & 1 3/4" lowers. I'd sleeve the lowers surely.
It would have been a good time to do a wheelbase stretch, wondering why you didn't?