Which cruiser is better? (2 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hello, I am new to the world of Land Cruisers but have decided to purchase one with research and knowledge. I am not mechanically inclined but have a friend and relatives who are that could help out with easy repairs. I am not looking to put too much $ into one (i.e. a new engine) as I am a student. I do however have some money for cosmetic touch ups and small fix ups. I am looking at a 1985 BJ70 with a 3.4L engine - 265 000 km selling for 6500. I am also looking at a 1987 LJ-71 with a 2.4L Turbo engine, 180 000 km. The LJ-71 is in better condition but i have read that the 2.4L Turbo engines are not reliable and can result in hefty fixes. Is the BJ70's 3.4L engine more reliable and fuel efficient? Is this a no brainer? Thanks so much. I understand this is pretty basic stuff but appreciate any help. :meh: Cheers .

LJ 71 = Red Land Cruiser in Pics attached
BJ 70 = Black Cruiser in Pics attached

LC Red.JPG

LC Black.JPG

The 2LT can be a bit of a problem child, but more of the problems centre around the 2LTE with the electronic injection pump and its tendency to run hot.

The BJ70 - if it is clean - will outlast the LJ71 as far as the engine goes. The 70 series can have problems with rust in the rear quarters, front of the rear wheel wells, windshield frame on both the FRP and hard tops (but less so on the hard tops), rocker panels etc. Look carefully for rust!

The frames can also have a rust issue, but not anywhere nearly as bad as the 60 and the 40 series - the construction was a bit different which reduces the collection of dirt inside the frame (which rapidly leads to rust through).

Running boards (factory type) on the 70 series will dramatically improve the lifespan of your lower doors.