Rear driveshaft, trying to decide options (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

NLXTACY

Wits' End
Threads
About two weeks ago I started having vibrations while driving. Speed didn't matter because it only happened while I was moving. Since I had just done a complete axle rebuild roughly a month or so ago I of course focused a concerning eye on that. Found nothing. Then I chalked it up to my aging tires being at roughly 60k and being chunked up from my trips or just missing a weight. Since I needed tires anyway I ordered up a set. Yesterday I was trying to pinpoint an annoying exhaust noise when I found the u-joint on the transfer side of mt rear driveshaft was shot. I immediately ordered up form Matsuba u-joints from Georg. All is good, I will have those today.

I called up Wenco, the badass local driveline shop I've been using for 20+ years. My cost to replace both u-joints is $30 cash money and can be done in an afternoon. Money WELL spent. I get what I need and I'm on my way.

Or... I could ALSO have them go with a slightly thicker tubing AND make it a little bit longer and re-balance for my 4" lift. I'm considering .095" DOM which seems to be reasonable given what can be balanced and what the flange face will accept. But what to lengthen the shaft at given my 4" lift is what I'm unsure of. I will have the shop check the splines/tolerance and I know that the driveshaft works fine as is on a 4" lift but would an small increase in length increase its stability and strength, even if its an 1"? I think so. The driveshaft is currently out and I'm parked on a hill so no good way of measuring min/max driveshaft lengths. Hoping someone out there has this already done and has the numbers?

IMG_2866.JPG