XM Radio?

Discussion in '100-Series Cruisers' started by ndcruiser, Aug 1, 2005.

  1. ndcruiser

    ndcruiser

    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    First post, bought a Cruiser last week.

    I am having problems getting an XM radio tuner to work. Still haven't heard if Toyota makes a tuner (salesman still checking) and my audio shop says that I can't add an aftermarket one because of no aux port as my changer takes it up. Would have to add an aftermarket deck, I guess.

    The FM modulator is too poor for sound quality, and I don't want to be sticking tapes in all the time.

    Whats everyone doing? Am I getting incorrect info on compatibility?

    Thanks-

    John
     
  2. ff347

    ff347

    Messages:
    951
    Media:
    5
    Albums:
    3
    Likes Received:
    294
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Simpsonville,SC
    i have sirius in both vehicles and it does great w/the fm setup. are you picking up other stations along w/satelite signal or what? did you install it? are you in a large city/metro area w/lots of radio stations? what brand?

    i had to disable the power antenae in my car to get a clean sound, i was picking up a radio station on every one of the choices on the sat. radio (jvc). of course none of this answers what could be wrong w/yours............

    oh, and welcome.
    scott
     
  3. ndcruiser

    ndcruiser

    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    No, I'm probably one of the more rural members here - one of the reasons I bought a cruiser. Didn't have any interference with other channels (or so I think).

    I have 2 radios already, a home one, and in my Rubicon. I tried the Roady in the Cruiser yesterday as FM modulator and it sounded like AM. Sounds great with the tape, but I don't like that method.

    Don't want to go to Sirius because I'm XM all around (started XM due to a GM vehicle).

    Toyota can't do XM (finally found out), so I'm checking out an aftermarket deck at lunch that will have an AUX jack for my XM to plug into.


    John
     
  4. ndcruiser

    ndcruiser

    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    I guess the big question is this: why can I get a sirius tuner and not an xm, if they have to install another item anyway, you'd think they hook up the same, unless there is some proprietary sirius jack that the xm can't use.

    There's really no Aux jack on it?
     
  5. Roadnoiz40

    Roadnoiz40

    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Location:
    Sunspot AZ
    Try something like this....

    If you don't want to change existing hardware. We have one of these in the Dodge to the factory radio, works great.

    http://www.logjamelectronics.com/pietoy03aux.html

    This is just an example, this may not be the correct version for your rig, but it gives you an idea of what could work.
     
  6. ndcruiser

    ndcruiser

    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    Thats what I did to my Rubicon, and used the disc changer output. It is not compatible with Nav vehicles, or those with 6disc "DVD" changers. I'm not sure why Toyota calls it DVD, it even says it on the Nav screen. Maybe I can watch DVDs with it? :confused: Doubt it, but haven't tried.

    John
     
  7. Roadnoiz40

    Roadnoiz40

    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Location:
    Sunspot AZ
    oops.

    sorry, just saw you do have the cd changer. nevermind about PIE adaptor.
     
  8. Roadnoiz40

    Roadnoiz40

    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Location:
    Sunspot AZ
    rocket science

    In our FJ40, we left the stock radio in the dash and mounted a shelf above the visors for the 'real' radio that has an aux input on the front for the XM input (an old Sony plug and play). A simple solution for a simpler Landcruiser. Sounds like its going to take an engineering team and a couple hackers to figure out your situation.
     
  9. 98LXand99LC

    98LXand99LC

    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    Instead of dumping the head unit, why not dump the CD changer? You can buy an adapter that can switch between two sources that installs in the CD changer port. Then you can use the XM and an MP3 player (which is much better than a CD changer). And, you can sell the changer on eBay for some extra scratch.
     
  10. 98LXand99LC

    98LXand99LC

    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
  11. ff347

    ff347

    Messages:
    951
    Media:
    5
    Albums:
    3
    Likes Received:
    294
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Simpsonville,SC
    "Here's the adapter:

    http://www.crutchfield.com/S-QkOxKW....asp?I=581DFTOY"


    now that is a cool idea! i have been thinking about the ipod for more variety and that is the solution!
     
  12. mscott

    mscott

    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    How do you switch sources using that device?
     
  13. 98LXand99LC

    98LXand99LC

    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    I have a single source adapter that I use for my MP3 player, I just have to hit the CD button on the head. The description says that you can switch using the head as well, so maybe tap it twice for the 2nd source. BTW, I can change source with mine by simply plugging the phone jack into something else other than the MP3 player, which I do with my laptop to play DVD's for the kids.
     
  14. ndcruiser

    ndcruiser

    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    OK, Got it figured out:

    Apparently, Toyota switched to Sirius 3 months ago. I talked to Parts at the dealership and he was able to find an xm tuner to put in.

    Expensive though....thats the price you pay to have it look great (i.e. can't see it.)

    Wondering about the DVD changer in the console. I'll find out if it plays DVD's tonight.......

    John
     
  15. UltraFJ40

    UltraFJ40 ที่นี่และมี SILVER Star

    Messages:
    2,044
    Likes Received:
    16,176
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Location:
    Dito loob ng kubo kubo ko
    Hah, I just bought that XM Tuner for my 05, Would've liked to have Sirius though. I bought it on Dec 31, 2004 and the Head Unit was compatible, but not ready.

    For any of you who may be wondering (I'm assuming Sirius is the same deal), The head unit has to be compatible and it needs to have a satellite tuner installed as well. Once those are in place, you can call XM and start your service.

    Doug
     
  16. bwbski26

    bwbski26

    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Location:
    Mount Holly, Vermont
    do u know or does the parts guy know if that add on tuner will work in a 2003 with navigation?
     
  17. UltraFJ40

    UltraFJ40 ที่นี่และมี SILVER Star

    Messages:
    2,044
    Likes Received:
    16,176
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Location:
    Dito loob ng kubo kubo ko
    Sorry, but I have no idea.

    What I would suggest you do is contact the manufacturer of the Nav system and ask one of their techs if the inner workings are compatible with the Toyota Tuner. The Toyota dealer is nearly clueless.

    I'll see what I can find.

    Doug
     
  18. ndcruiser

    ndcruiser

    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    On mine it talked about XM in the Nav instruction manual, not the vehicle one, leading me to believe its compatible with the Nav. That's why I kept pressing them on having xm for it.

    So, I would assume it would work. Have the dealer tell you, cause if they install it and it doesn't, the fault lies with them, IMO.

    We'll find out if it works in 2 days. I'm not 100% positive it will, because I have an 06, and it's possible something may be different.

    John
     
  19. CTapia

    CTapia

    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    15
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Thread hijack!

    My understanding is yes, you can play a DVD on the Nav screen, but the tranny needs to be in park. Some people have modified this to allow the DVD to play will the vehicle is in motion.
    Shoot me a P.M and point you to some reading on this.

    Thread hijack off!
    CTapia
     
  20. bwbski26

    bwbski26

    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Location:
    Mount Holly, Vermont
    i am able to play dvds on my nav screen while the vehicle is in motion.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.