Why do YOU have a 100 series? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

My family owned American cars while I was growing up. After an experience with dealers/salesmen at both Ford and Chevy when I was in my mid-twenties, I swore I would walk before an American made vehicle ever sat in my driveway. Went to a Toyota dealer and got a 2001 Tacoma extended cab and drove it for 19 years. A friend had my current 100 and I told him when he decided to sell, I’d take it. Deal worked out in January and the only regret I have is not getting one 20 years ago. It literally makes me happy every time I drive it.

Because every time I decide to try a different vehicle, I come away longing for a Land Cruiser, and I can’t responsibly afford a newer 200. I do have a GX460 for my DD, but the 100 has been creeping back into regular use.

I was a Toyota technician. I’ve had several Toyota 4wd trucks, a couple Tacomas and a 4Runner. I worked on other people’s 40s, 60s, 80s and when I drove the 100 series I was really impressed. The smooth ride and V8 did it for me. It took me another 18 years to end up with my own, but it was worth the wait. Every time I back it out of the garage or look at parked somewhere I am proud to own it.

I had a 97 taco that I miss. I then had a f150 that was not good off-road. Then I read @REZARF ’s 100 Build thread. amd I always wanted 8 cylinders. Found an 07 LX470 I could afford and traded the Ford. Not a daily driver, it’s my fun truck. But, wife and kid love riding in it, way more than the f150.

I live in the PNW of North America, but have in recent years have become fascinated with the SW of the USA.

My Land Cruiser of 20+ years was a '74 FJ40 that is built for mountain hard-core 4wd trails. I wanted a tough, reliable, comfortable 4wd for desert roads and trails (and long highway drives.)