Welding...What is the best "STARTER KIT" (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Kj, I am no expert welder for sure and weld little, basically for fun. I have played with big TIGs, some MIGs, stick a long time ago, but I have only a 120V machine at home, the HH140. It is more than powerful enough for body work and light structural work IMO. (To repeat, it can do 3/16" -being careful here- in one pass and 1/4" multiple.) (I have done 3 and 4 layers thick welds, sawed across them and I see only beautiful solid steel with not a hint of poor fusion, inclusion or what not.) And I think that it will be a long time if ever for me when I'd feel handicapped by it having only tapped voltage control. And I can't see myself needing to weld more than 1/4" for a very long time. At which point the welders will likely be much better than now and I'll buy a new one, or I will be dead of old age. When I was thinking about a welder I kinda thought everything strong shoudl be made of 1/4" steel on a truck, but look a bit carefully at some of the better bumpers etc out there and see how many are actually made of 1/4"... 1/4" is damn thick and heavy in actuality for most purposes.

The pro welders guys know better than I do about equipment and welding subtleties for sure. However, I wonder sometimes if some of the advice out there (not here of course... :D) is not colored by folks used to working with big steel for a living, which would of course justify having very powerful and quite expensive equipment, but also perhaps way overkill for regular folks. Kinda like me advocating the armored locked 80 to somebody who's really only going to go on graded dirt roads that in actuality a Pilot can easily do. Sure the 80 is better etc, but is it really needed?