Truck No Start, No Crank, but see voltage draw (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
So I thought I would be stranded, but I'm still new at this and not sure if this is my exact problem. At first I assumed it was the battery so hooked up to another truck but couldn't get it to start.

When I turned the key I would see that the voltage draw down on the gauges, but no sound at all.
It was super hot in the desert and my truck tends to run a little hot when it gets hot outside (not sure if this was a contributing factor).

I then assumed that maybe it was the starter so I hit it a few times with a crescent wrench i had laying around and it started right up.
Haven't had any issues since then and it's started up every time since this happened a month ago.

How can I know for sure it's the starter that's going bad? Is there some test that I can do?

Based on your test of hitting the starter, I would say replace it ASAP before you get stranded again and hitting the starter won't start it.
It's probably the brushes in the start that are going bad and you can't test that accurately. You can replace the brushes for around $70
or replace it with a Denso reman for about $170.

I'm currently dealing with the same issue right now.

Based on your test of hitting the starter, I would say replace it ASAP before you get stranded again and hitting the starter won't start it.
It's probably the brushes in the start that are going bad and you can't test that accurately. You can replace the brushes for around $70
or replace it with a Denso reman for about $170.

I'm currently dealing with the same issue right now.
Seems like it should be pretty easy to replace for the 3FE.

I see a few remans on rockauto. Do you know if those are any good by any chance?

Time for a new starter. Mine did the same thing when the starter went out.