Tranny Help

Joined
Oct 16, 2005
Messages
41
Location
Fort Smith AR
I have a 1976 Fj-40 that i use for 4 wheeling, and i was going to school (senior in High school lol) and when i came to a stop sign and let out on the clutch i heard a little bit a gears grinding and that was it. It didnt jump roll anything. What could be wrong?

If it is something major and i need a new tranny how extreme would it be to put in a 5 speed out of a Toyota truck? Is this a good move or should i stick to the 4 speed. I would really apprcaite some help on things to try or if a 5 speed would be ok for the Koozer.

Thanks alot
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2004
Messages
81
Location
Ogden UT
I think if I was gonna do a 5 spd I'd opt for a nv4500 but it would be way cheaper for you to just swap in another 4. you know being a student and all.
 

Poser

Oh...Durka Durka Durka.
s-Moderator
Supporting Vendor
Joined
Oct 1, 2003
Messages
20,451
Location
MN
 
 
 
Kroozer74 said:
What could be wrong?

...something major and i need a new tranny how extreme would it be to put in a 5 speed out of a Toyota truck?
Welcome.



" extreme "- you might be able to make it work, but it would not be worth the problems...( engine change, rear axle change because of t-case change, just for starters.. :) )



Did you verify that the tcase was in fact, in gear, and not in neutral? ;)



Good luck!


-Steve
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2004
Messages
1,628
Location
Monroe, WA
 
 
 
Poser said:
Did you verify that the tcase was in fact, in gear, and not in neutral? ;)

X2.

At least 95% of the time this happens to someone, the tcase shifter has popped into neutral.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2002
Messages
1,430
 
Kroozer, sometimes when you pull the tranny into a gear, especially when you're stopped, the gears don't mesh and it doesn't go all the way in. It happens all the time to me and all you have to do is try again. Very common.
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2005
Messages
41
Location
Fort Smith AR
Thanks alot for the help

Well i pulled off the side of my transfer case and a boot that is on the shaft that is connected to the shifter was rotten and opened up the Tcase and there is alot of rust in it so i am hoping that it was just like yall said in nutreal so i am going to clean it up and try again!! Thanks for the help.
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top Bottom