The Turtle Build - 1978 FJ40 (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

tone33

SILVER Star
Threads
My kids named it The Turtle, for the half-gone and faded out Marlin Crawler sticker on the back. I picked it up a few weeks ago from Kentucky. The truck lived some or maybe all of its life in GA. It's a woods truck, for sure, and well suited as such. Body is rusty, but frame is solid. Drivetrain seems to be good. No top, no doors. It has quite a few upgrades for wheeling. My goal is to get it running well, drive it on street and on trails, teach my kids to drive on it, and in general have fun and make memories with it.

I have 2 other Land Cruisers, an 80 and a 100 so I'm not new to cruisers, but I am new to 40s. Looking forward to learning a lot, and perhaps some of what I post here will help someone else. I don't really expect this thread to ever be done. I'm really not going for a "frame-off" resto or chase down every single gremlin or rust spot. But I do intend to preserve this fine 42 year old vehicle as best I can, and keep it running so we can use it.

This post is also a bit self-serving to help me keep track of what I need to do, to keep me motivated to continue the project. I'll use this as a sort of journal to log what I've done. And if this truck ever leaves our family the next owner will have a nice semi-documented history. I certainly welcome thoughts on what I'm doing and I'll definitely have questions along the way. I will update this main page with to do, done, etc. as I go to keep my lists organized.