Survivor '64 FJ40 (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
So, I am new to Mud as a poster but have been lurking on and off for a couple of years. Briefly, I have a few 45's, a 47, 43's and 40's, in addition to later Cruisers up to new and other vehicle brands.

I recently bought this seemingly unmolested numbers matching '64 Cruiser from a guy in Australia. I live in South Africa so I get to wait a few months to see the new addition to the family. Only crappy pictures I have to go by at the moment but at least something to gawk over.

There is some rust but not too terrible it seems.

While I know the later J4's quite well, I am not the greatest expert on the earlier ones so would value input on correctness, etc.

I have bought a bunch of NOS/original parts already but will likely keep this as is just make it fully functional.
Screenshot_20201119205305.png
Screenshot_20201119205333.png
Screenshot_20201119205358.png
Screenshot_20201119205419.png
Screenshot_20201119205439.png

Very nice looking old FJ40. The amber lights added to the back were a requirement in Australia. Sometime in 1964 Australian market frames were redesigned to include a rectangular tail light with amber lens on one side. Prior to that the amber lights were a add on. Seen a few style of these add on light which makes me think there were installed at port in Australia. Seen the same thing with reflectors on the FJ25/FJ40. Some time in 64 the reflectors were made by Koito and installed in Japan. Prior to that US made reflectors were added port. Who made the amber turn signals on the back will be a good clue were they were installed.