1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

{SOLVED} VSCTRAC/VSCOFF/VGRS lights all on

Discussion in '100-Series Cruisers' started by aaronrules, May 27, 2017.

  1. aaronrules

    aaronrules Coolest person you know! SILVER Star

    Messages:
    1,054
    Albums:
    2
    Likes Received:
    389
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Location:
    Greenwood, AR
    I am assuming that plugging in Techstream can better help me diagnose the problem?

    What are the effects of VSC being off and VGRS off? Is this driveable until I can figure it out?
     
  2. aaronrules

    aaronrules Coolest person you know! SILVER Star

    Messages:
    1,054
    Albums:
    2
    Likes Received:
    389
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Location:
    Greenwood, AR
    Could missing the reservoir cap be causing all these problems?

    Techstream:

    IMG_0798.JPG

    IMG_0799.JPG
     
  3. aaronrules

    aaronrules Coolest person you know! SILVER Star

    Messages:
    1,054
    Albums:
    2
    Likes Received:
    389
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Location:
    Greenwood, AR
    I am at a loss. I just had to order a reservoir cap. Techstream led me the LH front right sensor. And this troubleshooting page. Really grasping at straws now.

    IMG_0800.PNG

    IMG_0801.PNG
     
  4. aaronrules

    aaronrules Coolest person you know! SILVER Star

    Messages:
    1,054
    Albums:
    2
    Likes Received:
    389
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Location:
    Greenwood, AR
    OK. Hopefully not too soon, but all the lights are and everything is working fine now. Only code is the airbag which is a recall thing anyway. I don't know if I did anything for real that fixed it. Took apart driver mirro and put it back together. Left the battery unconnected overnight. Then fired up Techstream to make sure everything is good to go and reset codes. Fingers crossed.
     
  5. aaronrules

    aaronrules Coolest person you know! SILVER Star

    Messages:
    1,054
    Albums:
    2
    Likes Received:
    389
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Location:
    Greenwood, AR
    Well it was too soon. I went outside to go grab lunch, and the three lights are back on. I have been driving around with the dash still torn apart, but before I left just now, I plugged in the panel that has the hazard button on it back in...The only thing I plugged back up other than the AHC the last time I posted about this problem. I think I am going to have to resort to taking it in and having it looked at.
     
  6. aaronrules

    aaronrules Coolest person you know! SILVER Star

    Messages:
    1,054
    Albums:
    2
    Likes Received:
    389
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Location:
    Greenwood, AR
    I will be dropping it off at the local Toyota dealership Monday morning...Hopefully they give a run down of what is wrong and what needs to be done.
     
    bluecruiser likes this.
  7. aaronrules

    aaronrules Coolest person you know! SILVER Star

    Messages:
    1,054
    Albums:
    2
    Likes Received:
    389
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Location:
    Greenwood, AR
    Anybody ever change a steering angle sensor on a 2006? That's what the dealership is saying...and also saying $1300 to fix it! I really hope this can be done by myself, if I can find the help here. Currently searching.
     
  8. aaronrules

    aaronrules Coolest person you know! SILVER Star

    Messages:
    1,054
    Albums:
    2
    Likes Received:
    389
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Location:
    Greenwood, AR
    I can't find anything anywhere. Being as this is my daily drive, AND I want it ship shape for HIH, I guess I am going to have to bite the bullet and have the dealership do it. They also wanted $300 to replace the driver's window actuator because my window is sitting crooked. I'll deal with that later.
     
  9. aaronrules

    aaronrules Coolest person you know! SILVER Star

    Messages:
    1,054
    Albums:
    2
    Likes Received:
    389
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Location:
    Greenwood, AR
    AAAAAANNNDDDDD they put in the steering angle sensor....only to find out the steering control computer needs replacement. Does anybody know the flow of power in this system. They originally told me they had power going to the steering angle sensor but not out of it. I am wondering if the steering control computer was the problem the whole time. They are wanting another $1800 to fix that part. This is costing me $3,000 so far to get fixed. Pretty upset about this whole thing.

    I don't have an FSM (damn sure can't afford it now!), Can't find much on google wither. I'm hoping someone on here can tell me if the steering control computer being bad, will make it look like the steering angle sensor is bad?

    Any help would be appreciated guys. Thanks!
     
  10. PADDO

    PADDO SILVER Star

    Messages:
    1,343
    Likes Received:
    570
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    Charlotte NC or ACT area Australia
    You may have already looked at it but if you search "VGRS" by @nnnnnate you'll find a few diagnostics pages Ive previously posted which should point you down the correct fault finding path. Also, you'll see that he resolved his VGRS issue with a $200 pre loved ECU.
     
    aaronrules likes this.
  11. aaronrules

    aaronrules Coolest person you know! SILVER Star

    Messages:
    1,054
    Albums:
    2
    Likes Received:
    389
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Location:
    Greenwood, AR
    I've searched the thread and looked over the pdf's. The stupid question I have is of the steering control computer is the same as the vgrs ecu. I have to think they are. We went to pick my truck up today as the dealer said it was ready. Got there and all the lights popped back on. They have replaced the steering angle sensor and the steering control computer. Total bill so far is $3,400. I asked them to let me know what systems fall in the troubleshooting tree from that one damn fuse that keeps blowing. I don't have any money to pay for what has been worked on so far, so any more work that is going to get done is probably going to be myself.

    Hoping it's something stupid like the led's I put underneath are messing with a ground or something. This is getting to be too much for me to handle.

    I'm thinking I might sell it and eat the cost of whatever it is that needs to be fixed. I am at a loss. I have no idea what to do. This truck has been at the shop for the last two weeks. It's so close to HIH and I would not take it very well if can't make it because my 2006 is a POS.

    Any advise would be greatly appreciated guys. Should I just go get it and drive it home? It's my DD so any work I would do at home would have to be around driving it to work...and that's if it's even something I can troubleshoot. Wiring is very much not my thing. I don't know. Maybe I take out another credit card and put it all on that.
     
  12. aaronrules

    aaronrules Coolest person you know! SILVER Star

    Messages:
    1,054
    Albums:
    2
    Likes Received:
    389
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Location:
    Greenwood, AR
    @PADDO i noticed you helped a lot with @nnnnnate's problem. Do you happen to have anything that says what all systems are connected to that fuse?
     
  13. fjfodee

    fjfodee At a Medium Pace SILVER Star

    Messages:
    1,272
    Likes Received:
    317
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Location:
    S.W. AR.
    Hate to hear you're having this trouble. Especially when the dealer is nothing more than a glorified parts changer. Good luck man.
     
  14. jblatl

    jblatl

    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    259
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Location:
    Marietta GA
    Can you try unplugging everything possible in that circuit? Starting with the mirrors.
     
  15. Elecengnrstdnt

    Elecengnrstdnt

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    Location:
    Lafayette, LA
    You said you installed LED's? We're the LED's you installed equipped with a warning light cancel feature?
     
  16. PADDO

    PADDO SILVER Star

    Messages:
    1,343
    Likes Received:
    570
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    Charlotte NC or ACT area Australia
    There's a section in the FSM which lists the systems and functions associated back to that fuse, I'll pull it up for you.
    Edit. @aaronrules you can see all the pages referenced back to the ECU B2 fuse - you really need the EWD to track down the high current draw or short.
    IMG_1985.JPG

    IMG_1984.JPG
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2017
    jerryb likes this.
  17. planomateo

    planomateo

    Messages:
    596
    Media:
    5
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    378
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2016
    Location:
    North Texas
    ECU-B2

    upload_2017-6-20_8-4-29.png
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2017
    aaronrules likes this.
  18. jerryb

    jerryb

    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    225
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2016
    Location:
    pensacola beach
    I'm going with ecu b1 or b2 and --the op put leds in the combination meter.
    Where did you put new bulbs, and when did the fuse start blowing, and is it continually blowing. There are ecu fuses both sides I'm guessing, if LC is same as LX.
    You really need the paper wiring book and the paper manual. Good luck man.
    I wonder if the car would even start without ecu IG1??
    One shorted light bulb ruined me for 4 days.
     
  19. Rolocado

    Rolocado

    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    155
    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    I would be very firm that the reason why you took your car there was that you trusted them and they did not fix the issue and that you are not paying full price. That is ridiculous for them to throw expensive electrical parts at it and just "see if it fixes it". Don't sell your soul or your future financial life to the truck but make a deal with them and try and get a FSM and work through the diagnostics. I can't imagine it's doing any more mechanical or electrical damage to the truck at this point and you can still drive it
     
    aaronrules likes this.
  20. planomateo

    planomateo

    Messages:
    596
    Media:
    5
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    378
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2016
    Location:
    North Texas
    Updated it above to show the correct one, somehow I missed ECU-B2 when I was looking through the fuse list.