SOA supension problem. Front shaft keeps pulling out. (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I have an 78 fj40 soa front and rear. I used old man emu springs flipped with a couple of leaves pulled to keep em flat and keep me low. I do have a shackle reversal on the front. i am running 40 inch tires . I have been running this setup for 10 years. Without issue.
Recently the front shaft has been pulling out of its splines on up hill vertical ledges . Even ordered a Tom woods driveshaft with 6” of splines. Witnesses state that the pinion is dropping when I hit the skinny pedal to climb up .

any thoughts? Should I put another spring in? Remove the shakle reversal? Any ideas would be great. Thanks in advance

You could add a suck down point and use your front winch to keep the front diff from pulling away from the truck. You'd maybe be surprised at how much it will help you climb obstacles better. I do have a very long travel front shaft though. 6" isn't very long IMHO.

Sounds like you need to measure for your driveshaft length more correctly. I have a 8” shackle with a shackle reversal and 60 springs, a lot of travel with a stock Toyota slip yoke and have not had a issue, and I wheel more frequently then most. Probably almost 50 full days of wheeling on my current setup over three years.

have you actually fully maxed out your suspension each direction and measured the compressed and extended lengths that the DS needs to be?

Last edited:
On level ground there is only an inch of splines allowing for up travel. On the shaft

You could add a suck down point and use your front winch to keep the front diff from pulling away from the truck. You'd maybe be surprised at how much it will help you climb obstacles better. I do have a very long travel front shaft though. 6" isn't very long IMHO.
I think 6” is plenty