Replacing the clutch in a 3B w/ h55 (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I have a 1983 3B w/ H55 that needs a new clutch and I am contemplating replacing it myself. How hard is it to replace a clutch, and everything that goes with it? I am a novice mechanic, but my plan is to learn every inch of this engine and to be able to work on it myself. I have ordered the 3B engine FSM with the Chassis will be ordered next. What other FSMs do I need? What kind of tools will I need? If it is over my head I will have a mechanic do it. Thanks for any info.

Replacing a clutch is fairly straight forward. The hard part is dropping and then reinstalling the tranny/transfer case. Standard hand tools and a torque wrench is all that's required. Machine the flywheel while it's out. Make sure your pilot bearing fits on the input shaft before trying to put it all back together. A piece of emory cloth helps here. Check the condition of the rear main seal while you have the flywheel off. Replace it if it looks marginal.

Good luck!

:cheers:

I agree, it's fairly easy. I had my clutch rebuild and flywheel resurfaced for 140$ at an industrial clutch shop. the nice thing about a clutch kit is that it includes the throw out bearing, which can be hard to find.
for the price of having it done, you will own the tools and then some. A helping hand to move the trans around will help.

There are a ton of tricks to get the old pilot bearing out, do a bit of reaserch and you'll see. I packed in some grease then used a round punch to compress it further and it popped out. I did however have an issue putting it back together: I couldn't push the trans all the way into the pilot bearng. Apparently, it's ok to use the bolts to cinch it up the last 1/4"....

Is it a 60 or a 42? I've always wanted to see the original setup of a h55 in a 83/84 42. Specifically, how they clear the cross member.