new squeak after replacing shocks (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
2004 Land Cruiser, 198k miles. Just finished replacing my shocks and now there's a fairly loud squeaking from the front end as the truck moves over bumpy surfaces. Is this just normal noise from the new cushions settling in? Did the changed geometry due to the new shocks set off a ball joint or bushing in the front end? How can I test to figure this out? The sound appears to be coming only from the front end, which makes me think it's not normal settling-in of the cushions. But I'm no expert at diagnosing these sorts of things.

BTW both old and new shocks were/are OEM Tokico, so I don't imagine any change in geometry would have been very substantial - but maybe enough to push an old ball joint or bushing over the edge. All other suspension bits except the new shocks are factory original (i.e. pretty much worn out).

TIA.

I am having the same issue. Replaced upper control arms and still squeaking. Any thoughts?