New member (FNG) (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey everyone,

I am new to the land cruiser, I just bought a 92 fj80 with 200k miles. I have been reading threads on here and there has been a lot amount of excellent information.

What do y'all recommend I do up front maintenance wise? I just did an oil change today.

There are a few minor issues such as the hood release, driver door lock unlocking the doors, front passenger window doesn't roll down, and some rust underneath. Overall I think it's a good project and look forward to working on it.

20201118_110038.jpg

Welcome..... good to see another 3fe around.
If you dont know the last time a tune up was done, I'd take care of that first.

Joey at wits end has a complete kit for the 3fe

Welcome! Adjust the throttle and kickdown cables when you do the tune up. They can stretch over time and mess up how it shifts.

Welcome.

Welcome..... good to see another 3fe around.
If you dont know the last time a tune up was done, I'd take care of that first.

Joey at wits end has a complete kit for the 3fe
Thanks! I will check that out. I have a folder of the maintenance that was done over the years. I'll see if I can find the last time up.

Welcome! In what part of NC do you live? The group is pretty scattered, but with larger concentrations in Charlotte and Raleigh /Durham. I have no 3FE words of wisdom for you other than to change the fluids, soft parts and wear items and fix/adjust anything that needs attention. The A440 trans can become a point of contention on the late 60 series (62) and early 80 series trucks. If it becomes a problem, look into an H55 five speed swap. The five speed manual is the bees knees for those trucks.