Need a new EDC pocketknife (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Went to reach for my for my knife the other day, and GONE!

I've been carrying a Benchmade Griptillian 551 for the past ~2 years or so and really grew to like it, even if I thought the handle material felt kinda cheap when I first got it.

I really liked how light it was, how solid it locked, how easy it was to open and close single handed, and that it didn't have that "snap" like the spring loaded types have that causes people to look at you like you're nuts when you need to get it out at work, etc.

I'm probably going to just get another one, but maybe there's something better I should check out? My only real complaint was the blade steel - didn't keep an edge very well for how much it cost. The SOG trident tanto it replaced actually kept a better edge. The SOG also got loose after about a year, and didn't seem to lock up very tight after heavy use.

Suggestions?
Something in the same price range/size/locking mechanism.

Like you, I like the Axis locking/opening mechanism design. I have a couple Griptillians and a couple years ago bought a Benchmade McHenry & Williams version that I like better (thinner and less bulky in the pocket). My only complaint with the three BM knives I have: Medium hardness steel (doesn't hold an edge that long ... but easy enough to re-edge). I think they're still big bang for the buck though.

I still use my swiss army locking blade with the birds eye hole. it's a one hander with extras...I keep it on my belt in an old gerber pouch...

I still use my swiss army locking blade with the birds eye hole. it's a one hander with extras...I keep it on my belt in an old gerber pouch...