Navigation Build Thread (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I thought I would post a navigation "build" thread to chronicle my recent efforts in putting together a navigation system for my 2002 100. Our club in Birmingham has been attending some cruiser events across the country, and we are also starting to cover the many backroads across the great state of Alabama and the Southeast. I was an artillery officer, and we get bent out of shape when we don't know where we are on this planet at any given time. So it was time for a navigation solution.

I went from zero to 60 on this project in about two weeks, so I will cover what worked for me. Basic stuff here. If it helps anyone, great; if anyone wants to chime in with what works for them or throw me a few tips, even better.

Tablet

Budget
My budget was less than $200 for a tablet. This is a dedicated navigation device; I do not plan to do anything else with it other than use it on the road. I have a Kindle Fire that I love for everything else, but these do not come with GPS. When looking around I noticed that there is somewhat of a "lull" in the tablet market as of spring 2019. Not many recent product introductions or innovations lately, some tablets on the market have been out a year or two or three. Samsung is the clear market leader, but high-end models are pricey. Asus seemed to have all of the features, but their Zenbook line is slightly dated and also pricey. I cannot comment on Ipads; I honestly do not know that much about them and was looking for an Android or Windows-based solution.

GPS