Metal Tech link bushing (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I have been running the Metaltech upper and lower links for at least 5 years. They have the greaseable bushings/johnny joints. They have been good, but you need to hit them with grease regularly. The grease tends to wash out if you drive in the rain for any distance. It got to the point on long road trips I would bring a grease gun. Anyway I went to grease them and found one bush let go. Luckily I found right before a trip to Death Valley area (think washboard). The bush had grease in it, but maybe somewhere along the line it dried out (long roady over New Years driving through 600 miles of rain and wet roads). Interestingly, it the one right by the exhaust. I used a come along to allow removal of the link.

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

I guess the good news is MetalTech sells replacement bushings.

I guess the good news is MetalTech sells replacement bushings.
They might be a standard size that I am too lazy to find. But for now I just put the old factory link back on. I never throw stuff like that away, you never know.....I'll likely get the wits end die to press out the old factory bushes and replace them. At some point I'll have to pull the other three Metaltechs off to service.

How many miles on your MT upper & lower link arms?

I'm starting to notice some noise from mine: not bushing squeaks but some slop-clunking ( maybe the JJ's showing some age) when I get some side to side motion- approx 35k miles/4yrs. I grease mine about every 5k. I have no idea what the service life of the JJ's last before needing rebuild.

These should be somewhat standard bushings I believe; just with 9/16 bolt diameter tube for the 100 series. If you have your old arms, just pop them off and measure the inner diameter of the tube he used.