Manual CDL by Shorting Connectors?

Joined
Nov 30, 2004
Messages
422
Location
Moncton, NB
I thought that I've read some guys using a rear defroster switch to act as a CDL. Is it possible to temporaily short some connections on the CDL harness to make it lock?

I've searched and couldn't find what I'm looking for.

I need to trouble shoot a driveline GRRRR and I don't have a CDL and can't wait for one.
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2004
Messages
422
Location
Moncton, NB
very nice, thanks.

Why would I want to by a CDL switch when I can easily get a 2nd Hazard switch? It must be an aesthetics thing.
 

-Spike-

 
Joined
May 26, 2005
Messages
7,248
Location
Phoenix
Because it will say 'Center diff lock' on the switch instead of 'Hazard'. Getting the CDL switch is as easy as asking your dealer for one and handing them ~$50. You could probably get the hazard switch from a junkyard, but then you could probably get the CDL switch from a junkyard too, if you looked a little harder.

-Spike
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2004
Messages
422
Location
Moncton, NB
Only if life were that easy.

In my neck of the woods a CDL from the dealer is $137.07 + 15% = $157.63 CDN and will take a few weeks to get.

Is it bad for the system if I drive around without the front shaft and the diff locked? I can't see why it would be, but better safe than sorry.
 

alia176

 
 
Joined
Aug 21, 2003
Messages
11,368
Location
Tijeras, NM
If you do a search, you'll find lots of info on driving around w/o the front DS for various reasons - fuel economoy, better handling, etc..

Good luck.
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2004
Messages
422
Location
Moncton, NB
Did the Hazard Switch in place of the CDL this weekend. Worked like a charm, except I had to notch the plastic to fit the harness into it.

I now know why you shouldn't drive around with out the hazard switch. No turnn signals! :doh: I didn't figure that out until I got a whole lot of dirty looks from other drivers. :eek:

One CDL is on order from Dan the man!

Thanks, alia176
 
Top Bottom