Ishmael - '89 HJ-61 JDM Camping Build (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

60Works

60 Series Iron Works
Threads
Hello, All.

Thought I'd share a few photos and some knowledge about an HJ-61 project I've been working on for several years. I've named this truck Ishmael. His paint color reminds me of the deep ocean and in New England that brings up thoughts of Moby Dick. "Call me, Ishmael."

Where he started:

Mud Ish 001.jpg

Mud Ish 002.jpg

How he's going:

Mud Ish 3.jpg

The JDM comes with some nice upgrades we didn't get in the US. This HJ is sporting a FF rear axle with posi track, PTO winch, high roof, Ricarro seats, and 12H-T diesel coupled to a H55F 5 speed manual transmission. Unfortunately it doesn't have the factory cable lockers.

These side window rain guards appear to be a Toyota accessory.

Mud Ish 4.JPG

An overhead console has reading lights, sunroof controls, inside/outside temperature, and an altimeter.

Mud Ish 005.JPG

The interior is in great condition and didn't appear to be smoked in. This is incredibly rare for Japanese cars.

Mud Ish 006.JPG

Mud Ish 007.JPG

Mud Ish 008.JPG

Mud Ish 009.JPG

Mud Ish 010.JPG

Mud Ish 011.JPG

Yeah your 61 is the vehicle we all wanted Toyota to bring to the USA to replace the 60. It has all the goodies.

Very nice indeed. I wonder what the autographs/writing on the back of the glovebox door are?

Very nice indeed. I wonder what the autographs/writing on the back of the glovebox door are?

:meh:

No idea.

Oil change records, child doodles, dumpling recipes, wife's take out order, instructions to set the clock on the radio, the formula for cold fusion...

Any one know any one who reads Japanese?