How would you wire a system that used a switch panel (switch pro/auxbeam) but have a fuse/relay/rocker switch redundancy?

Joined
May 18, 2021
Messages
221
Location
CA
I am starting to add some 12v accessories And want to run the auxbeam 8 gang switch panel. Since it’s a cheaper unit compared to some thing like the switch pro I want to have a fuse and relay system that runs to a set of rocket switches in the glovebox or something. Would it be possible to run both of these systems and have a switch to active the fuse/relay if the switch panel were to fail?

I will have my air compressor, winch, and probably 3 to four sets of lights.

Thanks!
 

LandLocked93

SILVER Star
Joined
Jun 11, 2018
Messages
1,589
Location
Colorado
If I understand correctly...yes? You want to double the number of points of failure for the sake of redundancy, right?
Suggest choosing one panel or the other, but not both.
Make it redundant with a dual batt setup and a switch deciding which batt to power said same circuit.
I'm a running something like that.
 
Joined
May 18, 2021
Messages
221
Location
CA
If I understand correctly...yes? You want to double the number of points of failure for the sake of redundancy, right?
Suggest choosing one panel or the other, but not both.
Make it redundant with a dual batt setup and a switch deciding which batt to power said same circuit.
I'm a running something like that.

Basically I am worried that the switch panel will fail and I will be forced to rewire everything in the middle of nowhere. So I was thinking if I had a fused relay system already built and installed, I could fall back on that in the case of a switch panel failure.

But thinking about it more, if the switch panel fails, the only two necessities would be my winch and compressor, which wouldn’t be hard to rewire.
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2017
Messages
1,072
Location
Texas
You could just add 8 switches underhood next to each relay that share a hot source on one terminal and that when closed will send hot to each respective switch's relay's coil +. instead of having 8 rocker switches in the glove box.
 

LandLocked93

SILVER Star
Joined
Jun 11, 2018
Messages
1,589
Location
Colorado
Basically I am worried that the switch panel will fail and I will be forced to rewire everything in the middle of nowhere.
What?? Build the panel with good switches. Maybe double the amp capacity of the switch to what is expected?
Trust me, you will be more concerned with keeping power to the panel than experiencing a failure with a properly built panel.
So I was thinking if I had a fused relay system already built and installed, I could fall back on that in the case of a switch panel failure.

But thinking about it more, if the switch panel fails, the only two necessities would be my winch and compressor, which wouldn’t be hard to rewire.
If I were you and had to build 1 panel, I'd look into using circuit breakers as switches if you're that concerned about reliability. They aren't perfect either, but you gain some current control and over-current protection as a side.

Otherwise just some good switches with proper amp rating for the circuit
a good fuse box - BlueSea or similar
properly sized wire and good marine grade connectors and heatshrink
properly rated relays for circuits pushing more than 10A (personal pref really)
LED's to indicate or illuminate
and you're good.

Current and voltage monitoring would be a next step and is worth every penny when done correctly.
 
Joined
May 18, 2021
Messages
221
Location
CA
What?? Build the panel with good switches. Maybe double the amp capacity of the switch to what is expected?
Trust me, you will be more concerned with keeping power to the panel than experiencing a failure with a properly built panel.

If I were you and had to build 1 panel, I'd look into using circuit breakers as switches if you're that concerned about reliability. They aren't perfect either, but you gain some current control and over-current protection as a side.

Otherwise just some good switches with proper amp rating for the circuit
a good fuse box - BlueSea or similar
properly sized wire and good marine grade connectors and heatshrink
properly rated relays for circuits pushing more than 10A (personal pref really)
LED's to indicate or illuminate
and you're good.

Current and voltage monitoring would be a next step and is worth every penny when done correctly.

When I said switch panel I meant a solid state panel like the auxbeam or switch pro, not a panel of rocker switches. In case that wasn’t clear.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom