Front Panhard Axle Bracket - What to do? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

djawahir

SILVER Star
Threads
Website
battlebalm.com
So, I'm finally trying to get my project truck back on its feet again. It's been sitting for years and all I've been doing is getting older.

After looking over the front axle, I found this panhard bracket tab broken off and rewelded to the axle. The bolt hole isn't even lined up properly!
Anyhow, is this an easy fix for a driveline shop to repair?
Do I need a new axle housing?
Is there an aftermarket bracket that I can just weld on?

I just rebuilt the knuckles, too! Any help and insight would be appreciated. I don't think this weld job looks great...but I'm no expert!
(I don't know how or when it happened. It's been sitting a long time and my memory's fading like the paint on this truck.)

IMG_1566.jpg

IMG_1567.jpg

IMG_1568.jpg

IMG_1569.jpg

IMG_1570.jpg

Short answer: no, you don't need a new axle.

Long answer: this connection sees a lot of stress. The weld needs to be solid, but anyone who can weld can do it. The bolt holes absolutely need to line up. If you're removing the bracket, the welder can take care of it. If you're not, the holes can be bored out and sleeved, if the misalignment is really bad. Using a correct axle as a guide will help to get the bracket back in shape.

Not the end of the world, but it won't be cheap.

No, wouldnt be cheaper than a Diamond.... but if youre looking for an excuse.... Its definitely fixable, any welder/fab shop should be able to fix that pretty easily for you if you cant do it yourself.

Does the panhard bar fit? The welds don't look great but don't look all that bad.
Did you actually try to put a bolt in? The washer marks indicate that a bolt has be in there.
In the pictures the holes look like they could line up.