Front Differential (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey all!

I just picked up my first Land Cruiser...1991 with 173k miles on it. I was told it needed new ujoints up front. I just got it back from the mechanic and he said the joints are fine, but my front diff needs replacing. Ugh.

I'm a newbie when it comes to this kind of stuff. Do I find someone to rebuild it? Do I find a used one online or at a junkyard? If I find one at a junkyard, how do I know if it's good? Am I better off just getting a whole front end with this kind of mileage?

Any recommendations are much appreciated.

Thanks!

The diffs on the 80 very seldom fail, especially after 173k miles. I'd get a second opinion on this, what symptoms are you seeing?

Here's a recommendation: get a second opinion. Unless the front axle sounds like a coffee grinder, your diff is probably OK. I mean it'll be really loud. You'll know it. Bad U-joints clunk when you change direction, park to reverse or neutral to drive. That's an easy diagnosis.

You have no miles on that truck.

There are many options. Report back when you know for sure what you need.

I would go read the slee's n00b info page and find another mechanic he don't know what is going on .

Oh and the mandatory welcoming salute :flipoff2:

Oh, I almost forgot, welcome to the addiction. ;)

Since they rarely go bad, if yours is actually bad then get one at a junkyard. If you're not aware, the Land Cruiser uses a different setup than most. The entire differential assembly comes out the back of the axle housing (the 3rd member).

You 'just' have to pull the axles out a few inches (which requires the same level of disassembly as for repacking the Birfields), remove the drive shaft, and remove the ring of nuts around the differential. Then you can pull the whole thing out. It's really heavy.