Exhaust Sizing on a 22RE (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

pappy

photosynthesizing
Threads
Some of you don't know that I'm sort-of a rebel. I don't take anybody's word for anything. I question everything. Convention should be challenged. I'm not an engineer, but I easily could have been. So, two decades ago when I installed my first Thorley header I followed the conventional thought that pipe sizing needed to be 2.25" behind a 22RE. I always thought that was over-kill for these engines. As I learned about such things as "exhaust scavenging" I really started to question the wisdom of 2.25" exhaust on a 22RE.

Of course Google is your friend, most of the time, and I went into this with an objective, analytical mind. One table has made it's rounds, and you can find it here: How To Calculate Muffler Size and Exhaust Pipe Diameter | Exhaust Videos. Another good site was this Exhaust Size Calculator, Exhaust Size Calculator.

Now get real people, there is no way in Hades our trucks are making anything much over 130hp, regardless of modifications. If you are, then show me the dyno, and try to justify how friendly your truck is driving around town, or how it does crawling. If you are getting screaming HP our of your 22RE it's not going to be in a form that will be low RPM friendly.