could it really be that easy??? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
well, i've been driving my '84 fj60 for about 18 months and it's always idled high. usually about 1100. i fill her up with gas the other night and notice the next morning she smells like a fuel tanker when i take the squid to school. a little investigative work under the hood and i find a leak in the fuel line where two ends have been connected with what appears to be the broken piece of a fuel filter. dammit :bang:, how have i not noticed this before? apparently the PO just decided not to replace this $3.50 item. now she seems to idle smoother and lower, still about 900 unless i put my foot under the throttle and pull it up. then it drops to about 750. should i be concerned about any potential problems driving her like this for so long may cause?

well, i've been driving my '84 fj60 for about 18 months and it's always idled high. usually about 1100. i fill her up with gas the other night and notice the next morning she smells like a fuel tanker when i take the squid to school. a little investigative work under the hood and i find a leak in the fuel line where two ends have been connected with what appears to be the broken piece of a fuel filter. dammit :bang:, how have i not noticed this before? apparently the PO just decided not to replace this $3.50 item. now she seems to idle smoother and lower, still about 900 unless i put my foot under the throttle and pull it up. then it drops to about 750. should i be concerned about any potential problems driving her like this for so long may cause?

if you can drop the idle by pulling up the pedal, then you simply have too much air in thengine via the throttle cable. the butterfly valve/whatever valve on your carb does not close properly. it should be a super easy fix.
j