Cable locker conversion, my way. (2 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey all, just want to share my progress with my recently designed cable locker conversion. There's been a few people asking me about this so I figure I would just start a thread now despite not being 100% complete yet.

So this all started after acquiring my 97 fzj from my father a couple months ago. One of the first things on my list was getting the e-lockers working as I knew that they did not. This kind of thing is not a huge surprise to anyone who lives in New England. Upon inspection they were both completely corroded and seized, also by observing the internals, I could tell by the factory placement of grease inside that the units had never actually actuated at all in the entire 20+ years on the vehicle. So, faced with hundreds of dollars for replacements and being a fabricator / machinist I decided it would be much more productive to spend considerably more time than replacing the parts and spend more money than the parts cost in coming up with an analog solution of my own.

I had a few expectations for myself as follows:

1 . No more that a single hole needing to be drilled and all parts otherwise mounting to factory available points.

2 . It needs to look pretty cool obviously.

3 . Easy to remove to service and for servicing nearby parts.

4. Something repeatable so that I can make many of and make it available to others. ( Ive done much of this in the past for other vehicles)

5. Make both the front and rear axle units.

6 . Make it work good.

7. Have something that doesn't interfere in the passenger compartment with other controls.

So far I have completed and tested the front setup ( IMO the hardest one to get out of the way) as well as the control system which resides in the cabin.