Bumper Shackle Scam?? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I'm very new to recovery - period.
I just finished reading Bill Vista's Recovery Bible
Pirate4x4.Com - Extreme Four Wheel Drive
I found it very informative as to actual weight loads and physics of winching. I'm reading as much as I can. I'm trying to educate myself before I get out there and hurt myself, or worse yet, hurt someone else.

Shackles can be cheap or expensive, but commonly range between only a 2,000 to 5,000 lb. load rating. I found a Crosby Anchor Shackle (used for crane rigging) rated at 27,000 lbs. but costs $199.50.

I have two tow hooks on top of my front bumper (thanks to a mud member recommendation). Each hook is rated at 10,000 lbs. If I use a bridle strap, depending on the angles, I almost double to 20,000 lbs.

Rather than use shackles on a bumper, aren't you better off using a weld on lashing ring? A 5/8 ring is rated at 18,000 lbs. If you weld it to a plate and bolt it on - seems that is stronger than shackles as well (unless you go for the Crosby shackle). I calculate that 4 M10 grade 10.9 bolts will hold just over 45,000 lbs.
BTW - a 5/8 weld on lashing ring will set you back about $10.

Then the question is - do you use a shackle on the lashing ring? I say no - use a clevis hook. My Warn clevis hook, if I measured it correctly, is rated at more than 35,000 lbs.

So ... unless you buy a Crosby rigging quality shackle for $200, are the rest of the shackles the weak link of a recovery operation? I have to be missing something obvious ... EVERYONE uses bumper shackles.

weld on lashing ring.jpg

I'm no expert in recovery either, but I did lot of reading trying to figure this stuff out too because it's pretty confusing