Brake Lights Don't work (1 Viewer)

Joined
Apr 19, 2006
Messages
773
Hello all. I'm finally getting around to mounting my lights on my truck. I checked the voltage on the light assembally (rear tail lights) pigtail to determine if I had power when the brake light swich was activated. Sure enough there was 12 volts. However, when I connected the assembally, the lights didn't activate, although there was power.

Anyone have an idea why the lights wouldn't activate. BTW I haven't hooked up the grounds for the front lights. Could this be the problem. I gave up for tonight.....
 

Poser

Oh...Durka Durka Durka.
s-Moderator
Supporting Vendor
Joined
Oct 1, 2003
Messages
20,456
Location
MN
If you do not have a ground, you do not have a complete circuit, and will not get the lamps to light up.
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2006
Messages
773
If you do not have a ground, you do not have a complete circuit, and will not get the lamps to light up.

I thought that was the culprit.

Where is the ground for the tail lights? Seems there are only power wires.

Do I have to complete the grounding for the entire light system. Is this toyota related? Becasue in the painless manuel it says that the ground should be complete within the tail light assembally.
 
Joined
Sep 4, 2006
Messages
702
Location
Western Wa.
Usually the taillight housing is your ground. Make sure you have a good clean connection to your body/bumper where it bolts up. Also, check your ground to your frame, sometimes you may have to have a ground strap from your body to your frame, I did on mine.

Kevin
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2006
Messages
773
Usually the taillight housing is your ground. Make sure you have a good clean connection to your body/bumper where it bolts up. Also, check your ground to your frame, sometimes you may have to have a ground strap from your body to your frame, I did on mine.

Kevin

Kevin,

So the assembally has to be mounted in before it's grounded?

Thanks,

Jeff.
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2006
Messages
69
Location
Columbia, MO via Louisville, KY
Most aftermarket lights will use the screw you use to mount them as a ground. Personally I don't like this method, because you have to screw them into your body (a) and (b) it's a lot easier for mud and corosion and other bs to get in your way

easiest thing to do is soder your own ground wire to the ground that the mounting screw would pass through and then either ground that somewhere, or even better, splice it into a ground wire.

an easy way to check is this would solve your problem is to turn tail lights on and hook up power, then hold wire from ground in light to ground - if you get light, then it's a grounding issue - all you have to do is complete the circuit

how's that for long winded - :beer: ground you s*** and all will be wonderful
hth
b
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2006
Messages
773
Okay, I have another question about ground of the brake light assembally. Does the assembally have to be mount into the bumper for finaly grounding?

Also, where is the ground wire in the assembally.

Need imput...
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2002
Messages
15,223
Location
OC, CA
Does the assembally have to be mount into the bumper for finaly grounding?

Also, where is the ground wire in the assembally.

Need imput...

Yes.

There is no wire. Like many other circuits on the Cruiser, the housing is the ground and it needs a solid contact with the bumper to complete the circuit. Adding a ground wire can help prevent problems down the line.
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2006
Messages
773
Well I finished installing the brake light assembally. Everything works great (From dash to brake lights, to turns and hazzards). Stupid grounds.

Tomorrow I'll finish wiring the front and be good to go.

Thanks for the help!

I'm almost done with my Truck. I don't know what I'm going to do with myself....
 
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
1
Actually tlcruiser66 is right, why don't you try it and if the problem still persist better contact a mechanic so that he can help you out with your Toyota Lights
 
Last edited:

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom