Brake booster swap questions (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Ok you guys are probably sick of my brake questions, heck I'm getting sick of them. I have searched high and low for a brake leak on this beast and cannot find it so I'm sure that it's leaking from the master into the booster. I have a used master/booster combo of a 92 toy pickup 4cyl 4x4. Is there a way to determine if the combo or one of the components is bad doing home bench testing? If I bench bleed the master and it's a leaker, will I be able to tell at that point, or will I have to put it on to find out? Also my cruiser booster is bad, if I tested it correctly according to what I've read here. Give it a few pumps, and it flat out goes to the floor, and doesn't drop any further when I start the vehicle. Also when I'm driving down the road, I can get a little pedal when I pump it then when I hold it sits still for a minute, then with delayed reaction (I'm talking ten seconds or so) It drops another 1-2 inches and I get brakes. Right now I have no brakes whatsoever, unless I time it just right, pump it up 3 times, then hold the pedal and wait for it to fall and the booster to kick in. It's my only vehicle and it's too cold in Colorado to ride a bike right now. Can I bench test the booster from the mini on a bench? When I push the rod on the mini booster in it hisses, when I plug the vac line I can't get the rod to barely budge (I didn't press too hard though through fear of hurting something by forcing it). Should I just slap the crap on, bleed it, and see if it all checks out? I also have the calipers with brand new brake pads from the same vehicle to match which I cleaned up and inspected tonight. They will be going on at the same time.

SOunds like you new booster is fine. For leaks on a 62, spceially a rust belt 62 look at the LSPV and the lines along the frame. Make sure you bleed the LSPV as well.