Best tool system for expedition vehicle? (2 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

cnd

Threads
My antique DeWalt 18v NiMh needs to go. The sea of different systems in the tool store did my head in!

I realize everyone has their fave - but - there must be things people wish their system had, or things they have that other systems don't have... hence my question!

My goals:

#1 - safe to store in a locked and closed car parked in the searing hot midday sun

#2 - things it should support:-
decent chainsaw for clearing tracks
thing to remove wheel nuts (I'm not a mechanic - not sure what these are called? rattle gun maybe?)
drill
angle grinder
tyre pump

#3 - nice to have
miniature blower-vac
can charge from 12v (nice if it could fast-charge from my 360amp deep cycle setup)

#4 - things I don't know I need yet.
I've only done limited touring so-far, so I'm hoping I can rely on the "wisdom of others" to figure out what things are available that would be worth having (water/fuel pumps maybe? lights? - I don't know what I don't know!)

My setup is a LandCruiser 200 series with roof-top tent, 600W solar, 360AH Lifepo4 and 3000W inverter.
Plan is extended remote touring

Chris.

IMG_20230810_105314_880.png

Chainsaw may be your biggest hurdle as most of those run on higher voltage than other hand tools. Milwaukee has done multiple batteries on one tool for some applications. It may well be that they offer a two battery chainsaw too.

I have found that Milwaukee offers a battery charger that will run off of 12 VDC vehicle electrical. This charger will charge both their M18 and their M12 batteries. I do not yet have much experience with mine.

I would carry a gas chainsaw for clearing roads. That's a big ask for a battery saw. One 12" tree across the trail means you will be making atleast a few cuts to get it off the road.