2B Not Starting (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
A few days ago, I had trouble starting my BJ44 after leaving a store even though the engine was warm. Didn't want to turn over, but caught and drove fine home. I went out to start it cold the next day and can't get her to start. Glow plug indicator comes on after 15 sec or so, but when I turn it to start, it sounds like it slowly tries to turn over once or twice and then I just get a rapid clicking sound. I figured it was one of the batteries, but both are registering 12V (one was at 11.5V). Did a little poking around this afternoon using the repair manual, but I'm basically a newbie with diesel engines, so couldn't track the issue down. One thing I did notice is that the injector arm from the EDIC motor doesn't move to the overinjection point when the key is turned. It does move through the full range once when the key is released.

Any thoughts? Thanks for any suggestions/help.

Battery(s) are low - 11.5 is way low! They should read at least 12.4+ sitting

Charge the battery's first, then check the charging system for 13.4 or higher volts.

Well, I guess that shows how little I know about cars in general. Guess I assumed that a 12V battery would carry 12V. Thanks for the replies. I checked my multimeter against another vehicle and got 12.7 on that one. The two batteries in the BJ are reading 12 and 11.7. I'm trying to charge the 11.7 one now, so we'll see. Otherwise, it looks like it might be two new batteries for me. Thanks again.