1HZ Stalls Under Load, idles fine (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hello,

Beware I am not an expert on diesel systems or injector pumps and I have no clue what I’m doing half the time, so any advice no matter how simple you think it is could possibly be of help!!

Symptoms: running 1HZ under load, losing power, engine stalls, hard to start and sputters when starting. (Sounds almost like a cylinder is an air compressor, but not like a Jake brake. It literally sounds like the pressure relief valve on an air compressor until it smoothes out)

I’ve spent the last few weeks troubleshooting, replaced diesel solenoid (was faulty), replaced leaky seals in injector pump (main top housing seal was weeping and accelerator spring o ring was leaking). Finally got the 1HZ running and drove it on short tests drives all weekend, all within 10km.

Monday comes along and I feel confident to drive to work. I have radio down listening on the way there and it’s fine. Power is what it should be for a 1HZ, and get there no dramas after a 24km drive.

Work finishes, I start the 80 on the first crank, and get to driving home. I turn onto the main road and as soon as I hit 4th gear going about 70, I notice I lose power. I pull up to traffic lights and the idle lowers significantly. I turn off the main road onto a side street and open my bonnet. Now it idles fine (I checked idle screw too in case it could have come loose).
I decide I will limp it home but as soon as I start driving again now I’m third gear it stalls out. I pull over try starting, now takes many cranks to start. I prime my fuel pump and now it starts easily, but then stalls out shortly after.