1971 FJ40 Complete Rebuild (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

gmac1

SILVER Star
Threads
I'll start by saying I am not a mechanic and learning (with a lot of mistakes) along the way.

I am doing a complete frame up rebuild. Next step is to figure out how to check the frame (rumor is that my wife's dad more than a few times...) and then sandblast it and paint it with something like POR or Chassis Saver. Also starting to look at:

1) Rear axle rebuild including disc brake conversion.
2) Front axle rebuild with disc brakes also. Hopefully the donor axle from a mini truck works out.

Definitely interested in thoughts/opinions from folks that have WAY more experience than I do. I'll post pictures and information along the way.

IMG_1134.jpg

Cut off that booty fab tow hitch before you start on the frame. Double your planned spend. It's hard to take shortcuts when you start out doing a thorough job on the foundational elements. Body work will be the biggest budget item. Electrical will be the biggest time item. Get them both right the first time. 10-15 years from now, those will be the two items most likely needing work.

It requires a mental commitment, stick with it and you will be rewarded. If you think you will make a lot of money when you sell it, think again. You are about to invest some serious coin, enough for a decently nice used car.

Have fun

I imagine you could check the frame for symmetry with a tape measure, or a piece of string

Thank you for the tips/feedback thus far. Luckily I'm doing this with the intent of NOT making money. It's a vehicle that her dad purchased new in Arkansas (first Toyota in his town). I'll check the frame as mentioned. I'm in the process of ordering parts from Cruiser Brothers and Steve (aka Poser) for rear axle rebuild. Hope to start that this weekend :)

Yep as mentioned you can check the frame with some string a tape measure and a level.