Suspension expert needed - bounce/shocks (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi,

I am fairly new to this scene. Got an Fj62 and put on a TPI 3" lift kit. It came with springs that are suppossedly "the same" as OME, greasable shackles, and OME shocks. I love my 62, the lift is nice, and the ride is not harsh or stiff, but it does seem to bounce a bit - especially over small bumps in the road at slower speeds.

I replaced the medium duty OME shocks with their lightest type - which helped a bit. I don't carry heavy loads very often.

I have a feeling I need different shocks to help control the bounce, and I'm supposing that the springs are not overly stiff - since the overall ride is firm, but compliant and not harsh. Am I right?

I've seen suggestions for using the Rancho adjustable shocks, but their fitment guide only lists them for stock heights - not for lifts. Anyone know of a Rancho made for another vehicle that will fit a 3" lift FJ62? Any other shock suggestions for this lift that will control the bounce better?

Much appreciated
:bounce2:

I would give it some time to let the new springs settle. How long have they been on there? I am not familiar with the TPI kit but trust me nothing is the same is the OME set that is why they were probably cheapier.

The Rancho adjustable ones as I remember are expensive for shocks.

Goodluck

I installed the OME med/hvy with the OME shocks and felt like i was riding on solid tires adn no suspension for about a month then it softened up and woudl articulate better. Now teh OME are simply a dream. It's like the truck undulates over terrain! Point in case, I never had any bounce. Maybe call TPI and ask them what shocks to go with or if that is even the problem. Was the install fairly uneventful?