Stumped by Seemingly Easy Task: Side Mirror (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I am NOT a good mechanic or DIYer. I am, however, stumped by something I feel that even I should be able to do: installing/replacing outside review mirror glass.

I broke my passenger side mirror, but the housing and everything else is OK. I bought a replacement mirror from Toyota. Installation seems like it should be easy. Connect the wiring (done), slip a clip on the new mirror under a post on the top half of the "mirror holder plate" (technical term) that holds the mirror and then push straight down/forward so that lower clips on the mirror clip on a post at the bottom half of the mirror holder plate. The clips on the top look like you slide them up from beneath the post on the plate while the clips on the bottom look to push straight onto the post on the plate.

When I try to do this, I can't get the clips to click onto the mirror holder plate. I try to line it up and push up and the clips don't click. When I keep pushing the mirror holder plate just moves around (with resistance/clicks--which I'm sure isn't good for it).

Is there a process/trick to this that I'm missing?

Thanks in advance!

The hooks on the back of the glass (circled in red) should go underneath the top clip mounts in the mirror housing (red arrows). Have to angle the top of the glass farther into the housing to get them to hook on. Then it acts as a hinge and the lower part of the glass can swing down and the bottom clips (circled in blue) will snap on the bottom bars of the bracket (blue arrows)

Side Mirror_LI.jpg