Starter Relay (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

OKMike

SILVER Star
Threads
1977 FJ40 with a 1982 2F engine.

I Recently installed a new aftermarket wiring harness and a new starter. I'm new to automotive wiring and am learning about using relays. Question: Should I install a starter relay? If so any recommendations on what kind to buy?

Thanks!

A starter relay is a great tool to use to reduce the load that the ignition switch has to carry. By sending the load straight from the battery, through the relay, and to the solenoid; you get less voltage drop through the circuit. I would highly recommend one. Any old 20A relay will do. Try and get one that is a kit with a mounting bracket and a pigtail.

A starter relay is a great tool to use to reduce the load that the ignition switch has to carry. By sending the load straight from the battery, through the relay, and to the solenoid; you get less voltage drop through the circuit. I would highly recommend one. Any old 20A relay will do. Try and get one that is a kit with a mounting bracket and a pigtail.