1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Remote starter

Discussion in '80-Series Tech' started by lx450landcruiser, Feb 17, 2004.

  1. lx450landcruiser

    lx450landcruiser Moderator

    Messages:
    2,779
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Location:
    Uganda
    Ok i know i have brought this up before or at least talked about remote starters.
    I finaly got out to put it in and got it mounted ect.. but i stoped when i got to about 4 wires that need to be tied into the ignition. like ignition 1, ignition 2, start. the directions i have tell me what color wires i need and i pulled the dash apart and found them but I see them coming out the back of the switch and going into a large plug not that far away. now all this is crammed in a small space of course and i dunno how i can tie into these wires? any sugestions? i hate to try and splice into these wires is there anything where further down the line that would be easier to get to? and how do you think i should splice into them?

    any help is help
    mike
     
  2. Gumby

    Gumby Supamod Staff Member s-Moderator

    Messages:
    11,977
    Likes Received:
    415
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Location:
    Knee deep in hookers and gin
    That's where I tied in. Don't cut the wires. you really don't have enough room to put them back tegether. strip away about 1/4-1/2 of insulation. Use a test light probe or a nail or something and poke through the strands. Put your stripped remote wire through the hole and loop around. Then solder it into place. Tape it up well and you're good to go.
     
  3. xl715

    xl715

    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    I tied in in the same spot, it will all fit in there when you are done.
     
  4. lx450landcruiser

    lx450landcruiser Moderator

    Messages:
    2,779
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Location:
    Uganda
    i just dont see how i will have enough room to even strip the wire to splice in? i pulled the lower dash off and the metal plate which was rusted from the damn windsheild leak awhile ago. after that i could barly see the wires coming out the back of the ignition switch and going into the plug. also will i cause any probs in my LX if i unplug that switch? did you guys really have enough room to strip and sodder wires in there? i have to do it to like 4 or 5 wires. Would it be a major pain in the ass to take out the whole switch do my wiring then install it again?

    thanks for the help

    mike
     
  5. lx450landcruiser

    lx450landcruiser Moderator

    Messages:
    2,779
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Location:
    Uganda
    come on some one here has to have some sugestions??? ??? ??? Im dying here :-[
     
  6. xl715

    xl715

    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    My rig is a 94 so I don't know how diferent they are under the dash. However on mine I removed the lower dash cover and the vent ducting that crosses under the sterring shaft. After removing that I had plenty of room. My alarm is the top of the line two way pageing remote start from python, supposedly this is the best alarm on the market right now. It has more wires than you can poke a stick at and it all fit!! I connected the remote start wires to the wire harness after the conector under the steering column. I didn't strip wires and solder I used T taps, worked great on all my other alarms and you don't run the risk of electrical tape getting warm and losing it's sticky and falling off.
    Any more specific questions you have I'll be glad to try and help. OH by the way make sure you connect both ingnition 1 + 2, other wise it won't start.
     
  7. inacoma

    inacoma

    Messages:
    492
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Location:
    Aurora, CO
    I just did this on my lx450 a few months ago. I've done this before and I solder everything. I made some of my connections directly at the ends on the key barrel where the oringal wires solder on. Just add some solder to the new wire then solder away to the stock solder points. I beleive it was ignition wire number two that I couldn't reach on the barrell so I did what another poster has already posted. I stripped a wire (without cutting it), wrapped my new wire around it, soldered it, then taped it up nicely. May help to put a heat gun under there if your wires are little stiff or it's cold out.

    ...once you are done it is NICE.

    I do have a question for others though, where is the tach wire that you all have tapped into? Currently my engine starts on the second attempt (longer crank cycle since I did not hook up the tach wire). I would like it to start on first attempt, thus need the tach wire...blah blah blah. A pic with the wire pointed to would be a nice sppon feed :D

    Kumar
     
  8. xl715

    xl715

    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    The tach wire on my 94 that I tapped in to was right out of the igniter, on the drivers side fender behind the battery in front of the brake master. Heres a pic to show you the place that I tapped in. The wire is black, another way to make shure your wire is the same is
    1.take an ohm meter, put it on AC voltage 20volt scale will work
    2.attach ground wire to batt negative.
    3.start and run vehicle
    probe wire you think is the tach wire
    4.If it is the tach wire you should have between 1 and 6volts!!
     
  9. Gumby

    Gumby Supamod Staff Member s-Moderator

    Messages:
    11,977
    Likes Received:
    415
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Location:
    Knee deep in hookers and gin
    [quote author=xl715 link=board=2;threadid=11656;start=msg107127#msg107127 date=1077162751]

    1.take an ohm meter, put it on AC voltage 20volt scale will work
    2.attach ground wire to batt negative.
    3.start and run vehicle
    probe wire you think is the tach wire
    4.If it is the tach wire you should have between 1 and 6volts!!
    [/quote]

    A volt meter might work better. :D

    Most newer remote starters don't need a tach. They take the voltage increase from the alternator working to tell the remote that the vehicle is running.

    I always solder. Expecially those connections. I got the habit back when the remote starters were hooked into the ECM and poor connections caused the vehicle to run poorly.
     
  10. lx450landcruiser

    lx450landcruiser Moderator

    Messages:
    2,779
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Location:
    Uganda
    ok i asked earlier but didnt get a reply. now if i unplug the ignition switch where it plugs into the harness that wont casue me any problems right? the air bags are on a seperate switch yes? if so is it yellow and just below the steering wheel? also is it just one bolt to pull the whole ignition switch out? it looks like it clamps around the steering colume but its held with one bolt?

    thanks mike
     
  11. Beowulf

    Beowulf

    Messages:
    12,530
    Likes Received:
    50
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    Somewhere in the foothills...
    LX-Mikey,
    Your FSM should have the details on removing the ignition switch. The EWD will identify the wires that you need to tap into. Solder, shrink wrap, then tape if you have enough room.
    -B-
     
  12. lx450landcruiser

    lx450landcruiser Moderator

    Messages:
    2,779
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Location:
    Uganda
    i dont have an FSM yet thats why i was asking
     
  13. Beowulf

    Beowulf

    Messages:
    12,530
    Likes Received:
    50
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    Somewhere in the foothills...
    LX-Mikey,

    ARB, custom roof rack, roof lights all around, dual batteries, remote starter, 450 watt sub woofer, in dash CB, Custom switch pannel, and more to come.

    How long have you had the truck?

    -B-
     
  14. lx450landcruiser

    lx450landcruiser Moderator

    Messages:
    2,779
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Location:
    Uganda
    I got it at the end of the summer. I know i need to get one but so far i havent needed it yet But i do need to get one really soon maybe in a month or so.
     
  15. ppc

    ppc M Go Blue

    Messages:
    1,792
    Likes Received:
    406
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Beo - so much for the not so subtle hint! :doh:

    Why should he have to spend $$ when he can ask some idiot that bought the manual and save his money for the important stuff!! :flipoff2: :flipoff2:

    What do you expect from a PAK!
     
  16. Beowulf

    Beowulf

    Messages:
    12,530
    Likes Received:
    50
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    Somewhere in the foothills...
    >> so much for the not so subtle hint! <<

    :D

    He told us back in November or early December that Dad was buying him a FSM for Christmas. I guess the 450 watt sub woofer was more important.

    -B-
     
  17. lx450landcruiser

    lx450landcruiser Moderator

    Messages:
    2,779
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Location:
    Uganda
    Hardy Har har Beo i never said dad was buying me a FSM maybe you should do a search and see yourself. :flipoff2:

    mike