pre-heat light not on (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Mornings are getting colder.
My light has never come on, but I'm wondering if the bulb is just bad or if this means the glow plugs aren't functional either?

I assume the lamp should always come on as the ignition key passes through the first click. Is that right?

so I changed out the bulb with one I know to work (it works in another socket) and the light still doesn't come on with the key in the "on" position. Do the glow plugs only work when the temperature dips below some threshold or am I screwed with winter coming?

Or might they be working and the light just doesn't work?

argghhhh

I'm no expert, but, mine always comes on regardless of outside temp. It is possible that they are working but the message isn't getting to the bulb due to a wiring issue. I think you can check the glow plugs with a meter, they should read 11 volts I believe, but, you will need to have someone else turn the key. :frown: One with more knowledge should confirm this.

Heck, I by-passed my Super-Glow System with a Wilson Switch, and my light still comes on when it is 117 degrees F outside.
Go figure.

forgive me. I don't know what "super-glow system" means
I have a 1986 BJ74 with a 13BT
:)

Super Glow is a timed system that sends voltage to your glow plugs prior to start up and after. (not temperature based). I'm pretty sure whatever glow plug voltage controller you have, is time based. Just trying to help with your question. There is no outside air temperature threshold input that I am aware of.

Last edited:
Calsbeek,

lostmarbles, posted a great article on glow plugs a while back in 2011, you may want to read. "Which plugs should I be running". It talks about the different GP controllers and the various GPs that each engine should be running based on what system you have.

Apr 2, 2011

Last edited: