Power steering

73lndcrsr

SILVER Star
Joined
May 28, 2002
Messages
772
Visit site
I am finishing my power steering conversion and have one more question.

What is the optimal position of the pitman arm with respect to the drag link? Mine is currently just in front of the drag link (maybe 1"-2" forward).

thanks for your help.
 

woody

Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 15, 2002
Messages
10,341
Location
Toquerville UT
Website
www.TieRodMedia.com
which conversion, Scout or GM Saginaw?

IMO, 5" is a bit long, but will work. Saginaw pitmans are pretty universal, so a trip to the junkyard and looking at most any GM/Jeep/Ford/Scout product will net you one that will work.

The one for my Scout conversion is off a Camaro and is almost flat. Wagoneer arms are common for GM conversions.
 

73lndcrsr

SILVER Star
Joined
May 28, 2002
Messages
772
Visit site
I am doing the GM conversion.

Are you saying the pitman arm should be shorter than 5" or the distance from the pitman to the drag link should be less than 5"?
 

73lndcrsr

SILVER Star
Joined
May 28, 2002
Messages
772
Visit site
I have added the new pitman arm (Wagoneer). It has given me about 3" from the drag link to the tie rod.

I have a new issue, though. I have attached everything and I now only get 3.5 turns lock to lock. I tested the box before the final attachment and it was 4.25. I think my drag link is a little long, maybe .5". Would this cause the loss of turns?

My process...
I got the wheels as straight as I could by measuring the distance front and back. I left about 1/8" toe in. I then centered the steering box and measured for the drag link.

What could I have done wrong?

Thanks.
 

woody

Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 15, 2002
Messages
10,341
Location
Toquerville UT
Website
www.TieRodMedia.com
is lock to lock at the box or does the axle travel thru it's entire range and hit the steering stops? With the longer pitman, it will take less steering put to move the rods further...are arc of the arm is larger and more more with less input.

sounds all right too me... :D
 

73lndcrsr

SILVER Star
Joined
May 28, 2002
Messages
772
Visit site
The axle is traveling all the way to the stops. I did not think about the pitman arm making that big of a difference.


I have a new issue now. Is there a way to test the box and pump? I have everythink hooked up, but no power.

Any help is greatly appreciated.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2002
Messages
1,430
Visit site
Are the hoses from the pump hooked up to the gear box correctly? Did you install a used pump that maybe doesn't pump? You have fluid in it, because it would howl like the wind without it, right? Forgot to put the belt on? (I've done way dumber things!)
 

73lndcrsr

SILVER Star
Joined
May 28, 2002
Messages
772
Visit site
I have everything hooked up.

The pressure hose is the hose on the left in my attached picture.

I thought this was the correct way.

Is there a way to test the pump without making a huge mess?
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2002
Messages
1,323
Location
Bountiful, Utah
Visit site
Here are some pics for referance

1631985.jpg


1631969.jpg


1631962.jpg
 
Joined
Jan 30, 2002
Messages
432
Visit site
hey slower, do you have any pics of the box mount from the rear? is it really as easy as it looks? also, what pulley did you use to accomodate for the larger lc pulleys?

thanks,
Max
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom