newb question (what are these for?) (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Complete newb here. I'm in the middle of a light restoration of an '81 BJ42 (Canadian) and I'm disassembling the parts in the engine compartment so that I can get down to the frame for rust removal, repair, and powder coating. I'm staring into the engine bay and I'm wondering what these two things bolted to the firewall are, and what function they serve. I honestly don't know and want to learn. If you are facing the front of the truck, one is on the upper left of the firewall and the other is the upper right.

Upper left of the firewall:

Upper right of the firewall:

I am brand new to diesel engines so I'm trying to not assume anything about the function of anything. So what are these and what do they do?

upper right is your brake master cylinder, upper left (I believe) is the blower motor for your fan/heater. Have fun with the project!

Yep. Upper right is your brake master cylinder, the metal manifold with the reservoir of brake fluid above it and the metal lines running off towards each of your wheels, and is connected to your brake pedal. The big black thing between the firewall and the brake master in upper right #3 is the power brake booster. It's essentially a vacuum assisted amplifier for the brake pedal pressure you apply, otherwise, you'd have to put both feet on the pedal and push hard. YouTube is your friend for video how-to's on removing and/or servicing these. The power brake master/booster thing is essentially the same for all passenger vehicles.

Left is turbo , right is oldstyle bitcoin harvester.

Can't identify which but at least one of them is a flux capacitor. 1.21GW derated.

Left is turbo , right is oldstyle bitcoin harvester.