New DRL compatible headlight bulbs (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

To be clear, there is a control board, this flicker is different than just straight, uncontrolled voltage underpowering the LED, so the flicker's not as bad as that. These are hella cheap tho 😆
I mean a 50% duty cycle is %50 on and 50% off, at a certain frequency, not sure what that frequency is, it's a very efficient way to dim incandescent lighting, but for LEDs they just turn on and off, but I agree when I had drls that were LEDs with a built in resistor...the flickering wasn't bad....but annoying enough for me to pay way too much...

My guess is "no," I too have noticed a slight flicker if I'm not looking right at them. This is a byproduct I think of the lower wattage/voltage getting fed to the LEDs, and them stepping down in brightness. I'm not an electrical engineer, but I wanted to be sure it's not a problem before posting up in the other thread recommending them, so I've been driving around with them for months and haven't blown a fuse or anything else; I can't think of why it would hurt the alternator or any other electrical component. In other words, the flicker isn't a capacitor sending surges back into the system or something, my money is literally on it's fine, and for the $ "good enough."

My amateur BS science armchair degree says that LEDs don't actually dim; they just change the rate at which they turn on and off.

I THINK all LEDs actually switch on and off super fast, which is why a camera can see it (causing the roll effect when you point a digital camera at some LED bulbs). So my theory is when these are receiving DRL voltage, the control board says dim to, say, 50% output, which slows the on and off rate to less than 50 on off cycles a second, or REALLY close to that, so you can kind of see it. However, it is in fact dimmer.