Is my R12 A/C retrofited to r134a ? (2 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

cc93cruiser

CRUZAHEAD
Threads
I have no AC on my r12 93 80 series.. I want to fix this as this is keeping my truck parked now that it's summer and the kids and wife don't want to deal with road trips and no AC.. I have searched and read numerous threads about converting r12 to r134a, but I am unclear if my system has been converted as there are Schrader valves on top of the compressor (not sure if r12 compressors have them or not). Sorry total newb with ac systems.. I am pretty sure that the system is dry and has no pressure as I stuck the end of my knife into the Schrader valve and nothing comes out. Also, on the condenser sight glass, there are no bubbles or liquid flowing through... I kinda want to keep my system r12 as I am able to get some r12 cans from a family member... What do you guys think? I kinda want to just fill up with r12 and see what it will do.. Here are pics to help indentify...

20210605_103241.jpg

20210605_103252.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
One more thing I forgot to mention is that when putting on the ac, the compressor does not seem kick on, once again probably due to now pressure or freon in system...

Same sitch here. Think the PO neutered my AC. There's a dangling plug on top, everything is dry, nothing happens when I hit the AC button inside. It's completely dead.
It's not been a priority, but I'm more than willing to watch others painful adventures in resuscitation.
:popcorn:

I follows the Toyota service bulletin when I converted my early 93 to r134a. I don’t believe yours has been converted. Compare my high pressure fitting. I can assist in finding the TSB if necessary.
4F2D262D-8685-4EC8-825C-E96DE6C45304.jpeg