Interesting new product from Garmin (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

RobW0

GOLD Star
Threads
Garmin has entered the field of accessory switching. This could be a nice product for some. I have not looked at all of the specs on it yet, but it does look interesting. Price does not look bad compared to what it is competing with, I think.

Garmin PowerSwitch

Interesting. I am now thinking about adding in some accessories, but I have been wavering about controllers. I would love to have a reliable remote option, but I am still not sure that I want to go that direction. This makes a compelling option though. I may strongly consider it.

Obviously the $ is for the software. I say this because a 'generic' bluetooth relay/switch runs about $5/switched item, around $20 for four, for example.
That is with only on/off control and a very basic UI.
I've been running a bluetooth based relay for several years now to control my elocker, air compressor, and light bar.
I do wish the free app was stateful, but beyond that it reliably turns things on and off.

Obviously the $ is for the software. I say this because a 'generic' bluetooth relay/switch runs about $5/switched item, around $20 for four, for example.
I've been running a bluetooth based relay for several years now to control my elocker, air compressor, and light bar.
I do wish the free app was stateful, but beyond that it reliably turns things on and off.
From what I can gather so far, 30amp / output, and at least one trigger, as well as the ability to trigger based on speed and time of day. That is what I have been able to pull out a quick glance at the manual.

Last edited:

Are there ever times where you wished for a hardwired controller? I have been wavering for a while on something like a switchpros or something remote. I am curious how remote has been working for you.