Ideas for dealing with dirty fuel for bush camp in Africa? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi all-
I manage a carnivore conservation organization here in Tanzania. This forum has been extremely helpful as I am not a mechanic and have been forced to learn the basics due to my situation managing 10 old rickety cars in the bush. We have a small fleet of vehicles, mostly Land Cruisers, and we use about 1,000-1,500 liters of diesel each month. We transport this fuel from the nearest city three hours away with a large tank and smaller drums (see picture below) and store it in a tank fitted with a basic pump powered by a car battery. I've realized that the fuel may not only be dirty at the source but obviously has a huge risk for contamination on the way. We've had incidents in the last few months whereby multiple vehicles fuel filters and injector pumps are damaged.

I am thus seeking solutions and ideas on how to better manage our fuel. My first line of thinking is to put some type of fuel filter directly from our large tank/pump so that when filling the vehicles it passes through a filter first. I imagine this would be very slow but that is not an issue here.

Anyone have any ideas?

WhatsApp Image 2020-12-07 at 3.34.18 PM.jpeg

Yes, install a filter. I would look for a large duplex filter so that you can switch back and forth between the two cartridges. In other words, in a duplex only one side needs to be working to pump fuel. Many of these are set up with filters that you can clean.

Other option is to go simplex (one filter) with disposable cartridges. Cheapest initial spend but you have to buy cartridges like these: Fuel Tank Filters - Fuel Storage Tank Filters - Cim-Tek Filters

Not sure how many of these you would go through in a year. That would depend on your fuel quality.