I Need Some Help Setting the Preload on my Pinion Nut (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I’m installing a new ARB Locker and for some reason I can’t seem to figure out the preload on my pinion nut. When I took the third member apart it did not have a crush sleeve but did have shims. I went back with all the same exact shims and now when I torque the pinion nut down to 145 ft/lbs my preload reading comes out to about 40 in/lbs which is way too tight. Also I have a squeaking when I turn the flange that doesn’t seem to be right. I set the deal in as far as I could and the bearings are new & dry.

Do I need to loosen the nut? Add or remove shims? This is my first time and I’m at a loss. Thanks for any advice.

I’ve attached the below video for reference.

Link to YouTube video

196 Nm is pretty much for a setup without crushsleeve I think.
There is nothing to crush, are you sure it needs that much torque?
Most advice is it just needs to be at the same position it was and lock it there (count the turns when it came off?)

Mine was a bit loose that way (nut at exact position) so I did torque to 230 Nm but it has a crush sleeve that can be damaged when the axle hits a rock and my axle has a dent so probably a damaged (or pressed in low torque) crush sleeve.
So for me (maybe wrong) : factory installs crush sleeve witn 430Nm or something hulk wise, 250k later more wear and loose, axle hits rock and pressed crush sleeve: need to tighten the nut.

Yours should be really easy, just find the right momentum/torque and leave nut in that position, video seems very tight.

file.php

file.php

file.php

The fsm is not very clear about using old used stuff, they somehow think all is new, also differences in torque specs:

file.php

anyway, I also check the other side for play:
file.php

check and look inside what is happening and what has play:
file.php