Hinge rebuild service - maybe??? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I have thought about this for the past couple of weeks, at the request of Delancy. How many of you guys are interested in having your hinges rebuilt, professionally, by a machine shop?

I am thinking, that there needs to be an agreed upon procedure, and then there would be a standardized repair sequence. I have no experience with the hinges, but I know that I have several that need attention. They are a pain to disassemble, from what I can tell, and then the pin size is rather odd and requires drilling out for bushing acceptance or that you be happy with a little slop when using an off the shelf part. Give me some ideas.

My machine shop buddy may be interested in doing these. He only does things with extreme precision. He is a retired instructor at a local technical school. He built a 4,000 SF machine shop in his backyard and equipped it with machines dating back to the late 1800's. He initially wanted to run everything on belts, so he has a master power source and a system of 6" wide belts, pulleys, and shafts throughout part of his shop to run machines like a drill press, lathes, etc. pretty interesting... he also has some "new" equipment from the 1940's and 1950's. He does this as a hobby, and because he loves it. He takes pride in his work. If I approach him with hinges, I need to give him an idea of what I want done, and then he can give me a ballpark price for it.

Let me know if you are interested, and what kind of rebuild that you prefer.

Have all the specs at home, but my idea was to replicate the OE pin, all except larger diameter, but with the knurls on both ends and utilizing a brass bushing (that I sourced from Mud).