HAM Radio Noobie Question (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi, I'm interested in getting in to HAM radio operation. Can anyone advise as to where to start? Books or online resources to read? What is the basic outline to go from never having touched a HAM radio to being a licensed operator?

Thanks in advance!

Have a look at the ARRL web site first.

If your interest is HAM for off-road and trial use, start searching the web for info on Amateur 2 meter mobile radios. These radios are what is commonly used for local communications and trail groups, they operate at 144-148 MHz, aka VHF, aka 2m band. They generally resemble a truckers CB radio only they are a lot more clear, useful and powerful. The first licence class which covers 2m and a ton of other bandwidth is called Technician, so google it up as well, that's what you will want to pursue first.

I studied with Ham Test Online at www.hamradiolicenseexam.com, it's a subscription service but you will learn a good deal and ace the Technician test if you study there and take the test when they tell you you're ready. A 2yr subscription is like $25, seems to me that about 20 hours of study would get you there easily. Learning morse code is no longer required for a HAM license.

Overall I have found HAM's to be a pretty helpful bunch of DIY'ers. I only got my call sign last week.

Looking at what is available at the online HAM retailers will give you a lot to think about as well. It's a pretty broad hobby and you have to figure out what you want to do with it.

Good Luck,

AimCOtaco said:
Have a look at the ARRL web site first.